Skip to content

The Sheep and Goats Are Busy in Chastain Park

June 13, 2012

Ben and I went over to see the sheep and goats on Saturday evening.  They were hard at work over near the Master Grill in Chastain Park, just off West Wieuca.  They are being kept on task by a couple of guard dogs that are all business.  Check out the slideshow below for some pictures of the sheep and goats doing their thing.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Brook sutherlin permalink
    June 16, 2012 9:39 pm

    I stopped by the park today to have a look at the goats and sheep. The goats and sheep seemed to be hard at work, but I was horrified to see the condition of the dogs! They seemed hot, tired, I saw no shelter for them to escape the weather. Even more alarming were the bloody, open sores on their ears. I am not sure what caused these.. . . . Maybe the electric fence? I wondered if the fluffier dog needed his ear sewn up. There were flies and yellow jackets climbing into the wounds. It was quite inhumane! Is anyone checking the conditions of these animals? They appear to be in terrible shape!!

    • June 16, 2012 9:49 pm

      Thanks for mentioning that, I’ll reach out to the conservancy about the dogs.

    • June 17, 2012 5:35 pm

      Brook, I learned today that the dog is being treated twice a day for the wound on his ear, and the owner of the company is monitoring the dogs and the sheep.

  2. nancy Ray permalink
    June 21, 2012 10:39 pm

    I was at the park today-4 days after the last person wrote to express concern about the dogs. It was 91 degrees today.Seeing the dogs was disturbing. I called the owner. He seemed very responsive and cooperative and tried to assure me they are well cared for-the sore on the ear was COVERED in flies- he says the flies caused the sore- how will it heal if the flies are always eating his ear?He says the dog is on antibiotics.It will not heal at this rate! They appear too thin-he again had a explanation-they seem so lethargic and sad-how can they stand this heat day after day? I guess I am not used to seeing the life of a “working dog” as he says-I left a message with the Conservancy-SOMEBODY with the Park needs to be monitoring the conditions of the dogs at least daily. If they are protecting the goats-who is protecting them? I called Animal Control, but they say they have been out there 4 times and are “still investigating”….I think the members of the consevancy need to be diligent about following up on this this(or whoever brought the gaots here).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,492 other followers

